Zealotry wouldn’t be an inappropriate collective noun for Underware. They not only design typefaces, they live type—they educate about type, they publish about type, they talk about type, they want (and organise) others to talk about type.

There is an inherent honesty to their enthusiasm that betrays no snobbery—they simply think that type is very interesting and that everyone, given the chance, might think so too. Their work is among the most popular of independent type foundries — happy-go-lucky, high-quality, text-friendly typefaces for both display use and comprehensive typesetting. Underware’s typefaces stand out thanks to unique aesthetics, finished quality, and a considered collective presence. Underware is a refreshing and intelligent type foundry who, while taking what they do seriously, manage to not take themselves too seriously.

The type foundry Underware was founded in 1999 by Akiem Helmling, Bas Jacobs and Sami Kortemäki, and is based in Den Haag, Amsterdam and Helsinki. Stay tuned, follow us on Twitter and Instagram or sporadically receive marvelous news by our email newsletter.
Underware says big thanks to Hugo Cavalheiro d'Alte, Ken Barber, Donald Beekman, Peter Bil'ak, Henrik Birkvig, Noe Blanco, Evert Bloemsma, Ineke Boerrigter, Markus Brilling, Peter Buennagel, JoanCarles Pérez Casasín, Eline van Dam, Karina Dimitriu, John Downer, Marcel van der Drift, Finn Dubbelboer, Liza Enebeis, Gustavo Ferreira, Henk Gianotten, Henk Gregoire, Lucas de Groot, Rudy Guedj, Cyrus Highsmith, Antti Hinkula, Allen Hori, John Hudson, Jaana Kärkinen, Somi Kim, Robin Kinross, Doug Kisor, Regina Klebinger, Anne Knopf, Edgar Kober, Joes Koppers, Anka Kresse, Pekka Lähde, Wilbert Leering, Ritva Leinonen, Ewan Lentjes, Tal Leming, Tuomas Lempinen, Ruud Linssen, Karsten Luecke, Luna Maurer, Eike Menijn, Jan Middendorp, Leo Pusa, Kai Rentola, Joop Ridder, Willem de Ridder, Tamye Riggs, Ashley Ringrose, Michael Rock, Karst Janneke Rogaar, Maarten de Ru, Juhani Saloranta, Sasker Scheerder, Piet Schreuders, Joel Shane, Jürgen Siebert, Edwin Smet, Frans Sondeijker, Erik Spiekermann, Yvo Sprey, Jan Willem Stas, Fokko Tamminga, Guy Tavares, Martin Tiefenthaler, Petteri Tikkanen, Adam Twardoch, Twitter, Chris Vermaas, Rick Vermeulen, Wout de Vringer, Kurt Weidemann, Lennart Wienecke, Roel Wouters and to many others who often give us a helping hand.